Deadline Looming to Ensure all Mandated Reporters Receive Required Training for 2015-16

REMINDER: Beginning with the 2015-2016 school year, all school districts, county offices of education and charter schools must train all of their employees who are mandated reporters within 6 weeks of the start of school (and within 6 weeks of hire) every year.

As part of the training, employees must be told that failure to report an incident of known or reasonably suspected child abuse or neglect is a misdemeanor punishable by up to six months jail time or by a fine of one thousand dollars or by both. Districts and schools must either use the online training module provided by the California Department of Social Services or report to the California Department of Education the training being used in its place.